Some Vegan Alternatives To Gelatin

Vegan Diet
Vegan Diet
Vegan Diet
Vegan Diet

For making jelly, cheesecake, or thickening a blancmange, you will need gelatin in all of these instances. It is common knowledge that regular gelatin is made from the bones of animals and so vegans never use gelatin. So what can vegans use while making jellies? Many plant-based gelatin alternatives are available these days and you can use them in your vegan recipes. Some of the common gelatin alternatives used by people following vegan diet plans are discussed below.

Xanthan GumĀ 

This gum is a starch or polysaccharide that is akin to pectin. Xanthan is a by-product of bacterial fermentation and occurs naturally. This is sold in the form of a white powder and has a grainy texture. It can be used in baked cheesecakes, lemon pies, and more. While using Xanthan gum, you need to make sure that your vegan recipe contains less than 60% of sugar as the gum can have difficulties setting when used in really sweet vegan recipes. Therefore, the gum is not suitable for some of the sweet vegan recipes.

You need to sprinkle the Xanthan powder into the liquid and blend it evenly. It hydrates rapidly with very little flavor or smell. You can mix the xanthan powder with sugar crystals if your vegan recipe is sweet. This will aid in obviating the gum from hydrating unevenly.

Agar-AgarĀ 

Extracted from red algae, agar-agar was first discovered in Japan. Later, it became internationally recognized for its gelatinizing capabilities. It is available in the form of a colorless and flavorless powder that is capable of setting firmly. As it is very strong, you will require only 0.9 grams of the powder to set 100 ml of neutral liquid. In the case of acidic liquid, you will need 1.3 grams of the powder. This means that you will need very accurate digital scales while using agar-agar.

It can be used in many vegan desserts and recipes. As it is very versatile, it can be used in many vegan recipes like vegetable purees, creams, sweets, and custards. While using agar-agar, you will need to follow the instructions on the packet as each variety will have a different binding capability and strength. It can be activated by soaking the powder or sheets in boiling water for about five minutes. After the agar-agar is dissolved completely in water, it can be poured into the mixture.

There is nothing wrong with turning to vegan diets, you could still satisfy your sweet-tooth with super delicious vegan recipes.